DIY: How to disable DRL's

How to's and Custum Mods
Post your How to's and any pics of any projects your doing
  • 1
  • 2
17 posts Page 1 of 2
Viperoni
onenut
Posts: 1667
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:44 am
Location: B-town, ON
 
by Viperoni » Wed Jul 25, 2007 10:51 pm
Here you go, Thanks to Saturnspot... (and Fireball for posting it on O6P in the ICE section)

Items you need:
-A 1991-2002 Saturn S-Series vehicle.
-A brain.
-At least one hand. Two are preferred.
-One eye... Wait, no, you could do it by touch if you had to.

What this procedure will do:
-Disable the annoying daytime running lights (aka DRL's).
-Disable the DRL's without affecting anything else on the car.
--Both headlights still work, low and high beam (foglights work too).
--No warning lights will flash or illuminate on your dashboard.
--You're not required to have a ghetto-fab jumper plugged into your fuse box.
-Allow you to re-enable the DRL's if the need arises, without having to carry the relay in your glovebox/map pocket/cup holder/etc.

1.) Pop your hood, unscrew the big plastic bolt on your underhood fuse box.

2.) Find the DRL relay. (Underside of fuse box cover has a diagram, it will be labeled "DRL".)

If you don't know how to read the fuse box diagram, here is a picture. The DRL relay is circled in red.

Image

3.) Pull the relay out. Easily accomplished with a straight-up pulling motion and a bit of rocking back and forth (follow the arrows in the picture above).

4.) With relay removed, take a look at it. Cute, huh? Wonderous little things, relays are. Electromagnetic switches. Back on topic. Find the diagram printed on one side. See how it relates perfectly to the orientation of the pins on the side next to it.

Image

5.) Find pin 85. Bend it flat against the relay housing so that it won't be inserted into the socket

Image

6.) Plug the relay back in. Enjoy cruising around without your DRL's.

7.) If anyone ever gives you any trouble about disabling a "safety feature", or if you ever feel the need to re-enable your DRL's, simply bend the pin back into place.



Personally, I just took out the relay, it's somewhere in the car, works fine, all the lights work fine, I'm happy, and the car still needs repairs. Yet another mission in modding saturn's successfully completed! :P

 

Fireball027
6th Planet Addict
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:22 pm
Location: Thorold
 
by Fireball027 » Wed Jul 25, 2007 11:55 pm
Some people's relays may look different and they can mod the DRL by bending pin 86 if your relay looks like this one.


Image

 

sc2racer
our6thplanet.com Owns me
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 7:16 pm
Location: Vaughan, Ontario
by sc2racer » Thu Jul 26, 2007 1:07 am
if you were to do this .. lets say take out the relay totally . would the high beams still work ? . or would they be disabled too ... Just curious ? .. cause I think im going to do this. Would make the car a lot better lookin at night with my fogs and parking lights only :)

 

Fireball027
6th Planet Addict
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:22 pm
Location: Thorold
 
by Fireball027 » Fri Jul 27, 2007 5:18 pm
If you remove the relay your high beams would "NOT" work.

 

Viperoni
onenut
Posts: 1667
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:44 am
Location: B-town, ON
 
by Viperoni » Fri Jul 27, 2007 7:17 pm
My highbeams work without the relay...

 

coppertop_01
Crazy Saturn Mofo
Posts: 1974
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 12:10 am
Location: Brampton
 
by coppertop_01 » Fri Jul 27, 2007 10:48 pm
yeah the headlights will work without the relay there.......

but your DRL light in the dash will blink and shit, at least on the 3rd gens

Jer

 

sc2racer
our6thplanet.com Owns me
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 7:16 pm
Location: Vaughan, Ontario
by sc2racer » Sat Jul 28, 2007 12:09 am
Yup Jer .. the DRL light will flash about 5 or 6 times before it shuts off ... and also ... the high BEAM works lol . .when you take out the relay only the Driver side high beam turns on ..

 

Viperoni
onenut
Posts: 1667
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:44 am
Location: B-town, ON
 
by Viperoni » Sat Jul 28, 2007 7:34 am
sc2racer wrote:.when you take out the relay only the Driver side high beam turns on ..


I thought I had burned out bulb :oops:

 

Fireball027
6th Planet Addict
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:22 pm
Location: Thorold
 
by Fireball027 » Sat Jul 28, 2007 9:32 am
Viperoni wrote:
sc2racer wrote:.when you take out the relay only the Driver side high beam turns on ..


I thought I had burned out bulb :oops:


Nope only 1 will work. There is only 1 way around it, but I have not tested it on the saturn, so I wont discuss that option yet, lol.

But anyways, why not go to the wreckers, grab another relay, cut the pin and put it in, then you have the stock relay if you want the DRL back on or if you get a ticket.

 

sc2racer
our6thplanet.com Owns me
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 7:16 pm
Location: Vaughan, Ontario
by sc2racer » Sat Jul 28, 2007 11:46 am
all you have to do is tap the left into the right .. should work

 

Fireball027
6th Planet Addict
Posts: 148
Joined: Sat Jan 27, 2007 4:22 pm
Location: Thorold
 
by Fireball027 » Sat Jul 28, 2007 1:56 pm
sc2racer wrote:all you have to do is tap the left into the right .. should work


You have to be carefull with that because depending of how the lights are wires (havent really looked at the saturn) but by tying in to the other light you can pull to much wattage through the one wire and acually burn it up.

 

sc2racer
our6thplanet.com Owns me
Posts: 1217
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 7:16 pm
Location: Vaughan, Ontario
by sc2racer » Sun Jul 29, 2007 3:14 am
yuup you are right about that. if you really wanted to get crazy you could make a relay lol but might as well bend the 86th pin so at least its almost stock

 

rshackelferd
6th Planet Addict
Posts: 110
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:21 pm
Location: London Ont
by rshackelferd » Tue Feb 26, 2008 11:30 pm
that sick i always wanted to turn those off i knew there was a way now i know for sure thx

 

01saturnsc1
6th Planet Addict
Posts: 169
Joined: Mon Dec 11, 2006 1:04 pm
Location: Oakland,Ont
 
by 01saturnsc1 » Sun Aug 17, 2008 10:50 pm
Theres a video of this on youtube aswell under the user name richpin06 if i remeber right he has lots of saturn how to's

 

Myk
Registered User
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Oct 22, 2007 8:37 am
by Myk » Tue Sep 02, 2008 11:15 am
Anyone figure this out for the Astra yet?
  • 1
  • 2
17 posts Page 1 of 2
kuchnie na wymiar radomsko

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests