so, finally got my 95 coupe running on her own power.

A Place for Saturn Discussion
11 posts Page 1 of 1
Slayer
O6P Staff
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 5:33 pm
Location: Hamilton
 
by Slayer » Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:16 pm
So the past couple of weekends, i have been putting the motor from my 97 parts car i got a while back, and put it into the 1995 coupe.

anyways finally got it all buttoned up, and after a few small technical problems she fired right up

turned out the coil packs or somehitng ignition related failed, so after a swap she fired right up, i was pretty amazed actually, i ended up doing all teh work myself (not that i didnt have lots of offers) just happened to be somehting in my spare time...

we're giving the car away anyways so i wasnt in a huge rush or anything/...


Ido have one issue tho, Turns out my radiator has a small crack in it, and the first gen sedan rad seems to be about an inch too tall. Does anyone have one that will fit a 1995 SC1?


If anyone is ever changing their tranny fluid in a manual, here's a good way to measure out the 2.6 quarts exactly.

Ok, so i have a funnel with 1 quart marks on it. I added 1 quart to the trans. The amount that leaked out due to me not putting the axel in, was exactly .5 quarts, so i could add 2 more quarts, then i was only low about 100mm hahahhaahah, what a way to measure it out eh hahahahaha


on another note, the 1998 sc2 i kept having camshaft position sensor error, So after changing the crank sensor it kept coming back. i did a tune up, and the coil packs were soooo corroded, turns out i had another spare module,and 2 coils from anotehr dohc motor, swapped them out and new wires, she runs perfect now... so anyone who has this error that wont go away, do a tune up :P

 

andrew88
Our Fearless Leader
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:54 pm
Location: Innisfil ,Ont
 
by andrew88 » Sun Oct 18, 2009 8:24 pm
Ya the camshaft codes are always fun. I had one the other day that was "camshaft position sensor voltage low" like wtf? How can there be a voltage code for a circuit that doesnt even exist!

 

Viperoni
onenut
Posts: 1667
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:44 am
Location: B-town, ON
 
by Viperoni » Mon Oct 19, 2009 10:42 am
Good job on getting the car running :)
It's always a great feeling.

I got 2 spare rads, if you come out to the C7 tour, I'll bring em with me and you can have them.

 

Slayer
O6P Staff
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 5:33 pm
Location: Hamilton
 
by Slayer » Mon Oct 19, 2009 11:02 am
i dunno when that is even, or if im going, will it fit a 1995 coupe? cause i have jons old rad froma 92 i think sedan, and its about an inch too tall, it hits the upper brace above the rad.

 

andrew88
Our Fearless Leader
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:54 pm
Location: Innisfil ,Ont
 
by andrew88 » Mon Oct 19, 2009 2:52 pm
91-93 are different from 94-2002.

 

viperssaturn
Moderator
Posts: 1653
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:34 am
Location: Hamilton
 
by viperssaturn » Mon Oct 19, 2009 7:18 pm
Duh, just get a saw and cut the top off it then :roll: we can seal that bitch up with some duct tape!!! :idea: sheesh, one free rad and you're bitchin already :P In the country if you went "up street" to the gay-rahj, they would call that direct spray injection cooling. :lol:

 

andrew88
Our Fearless Leader
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:54 pm
Location: Innisfil ,Ont
 
by andrew88 » Mon Oct 19, 2009 7:51 pm
And a few zip ties just to be sure!

 

Slayer
O6P Staff
Posts: 1568
Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2006 5:33 pm
Location: Hamilton
 
by Slayer » Mon Oct 19, 2009 8:28 pm
viperssaturn wrote:Duh, just get a saw and cut the top off it then :roll: we can seal that bitch up with some duct tape!!! :idea: sheesh, one free rad and you're bitchin already :P In the country if you went "up street" to the gay-rahj, they would call that direct spray injection cooling. :lol:


i thought about hacking the car or the rad to make it fit hahahahaha, but theres about an inch clearance needed, and trying to find and inch to remove out of the car or the rad wil cause issues... ..

damn and i wanted to get out hte sawzall... or cutoff wheel

 

andrew88
Our Fearless Leader
Posts: 371
Joined: Thu Jul 31, 2008 9:54 pm
Location: Innisfil ,Ont
 
by andrew88 » Mon Oct 19, 2009 9:39 pm
Image

Just to be sure the job is done right.

 

Viperoni
onenut
Posts: 1667
Joined: Sun Oct 15, 2006 10:44 am
Location: B-town, ON
 
by Viperoni » Tue Oct 20, 2009 12:03 am
Mine both came from either my old 95 SW2 or 95 SL2, so they should be fine.

I thought they were all the same height too, but I guess not.
Jamesdaupt
Registered User
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 12:08 am
Location: Bahrain
 
by Jamesdaupt » Sun Sep 24, 2017 12:58 pm
Why would you want a knock off of anything?

Ricer.
11 posts Page 1 of 1
kuchnie na wymiar radomsko

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests