Q&A: Electrical and In Car Entertainment (I.C.E.) Technical Support
16 posts Page 1 of 2

Good Idea?

33% Yes
67% No

Total votes: 6

ScottyC

by ScottyC » Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:49 pm
Im fairly new at this so it may seem like a stupid question.... Im removing the rear backrest in mty 97saturn sc2 and replacing it with a custom sound sys completly done by me.., I figured id by some MDF probably 5/8 inches think because i dont think 3/8 would hold and im attaching 2 rockford 10's and rockford amp and a capactior. how would i go about doing this from someone else's point of view. theres a slight angle to which im goin to have to put the mdf on.... does anyone know what i can attach the mdf to?, and what i should definitly do while doing this. any tips, info, or suggestions greatly appreciated...

artsar
6th Planet Addict

by artsar » Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:07 pm
why are you doing an enclosure in the back seat, with only 10" rockfords. Unless these require alot of cubic foot space why would you remove the entire back seat?

ScottyC

by ScottyC » Tue Feb 05, 2008 4:58 pm
im only removing the backrest nopt the bottom part of the seat and thats not a tip im looking for help not crap?

viperssaturn

by viperssaturn » Tue Feb 05, 2008 5:30 pm
You would have to pre drill the MDF into the frame of the trunk (the metal piece the backrest is attached too) and then BOLT it on there. Do not use screws because they will come loose from all the pounding. As for whether or not it is a good idea? I voted for no because it is not functional. If it is strictly a show car or you never plan on having people back there, then go ahead. But if you are going to do it that way, why not do a custom fibreglass enclosure to make it look nice?

ScottyC

by ScottyC » Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:43 pm